WhatsApp adds support for disappearing voice messages

0


While today’s biggest news from the world of Meta’s messaging apps was the rollout of end-to-end encryption in Messenger, the company is also bringing another useful feature to its WhatsApp users: disappearing voice messages. The new feature will allow users to send a voice message that can only be heard once before disappearing, similar to the “view once” option for photos and videos introduced in 2021.

The company says this feature can bring added security to conversations where you don’t want information kept in digital form – such as when planning a surprise or sharing sensitive information with a friend or family member, Just like your credit card number is for one-time use.

These messages will be clearly marked with a “one time” icon to let the recipient know they can only listen to the message once before it expires. This way, they won’t try to play it in a place where they can’t hear well, or they’ll be willing to take notes if there’s information they need to remember from the message. WhatsApp says messages are secure with end-to-end encryption by default, as are “view once” photos and videos.

The WhatsApp update follows a series of privacy-focused changes to Meta’s social platform, which Meta CEO Mark Zuckerberg announced as futuristic in a 2019 address. In it, the executive made promises about security, private interactions, interoperability, encryption, and more, though Meta recently quietly scaled things back on one of these efforts as it announced it would move forward despite EU regulations. Will stop cross-messaging on Instagram and Facebook. Through the Digital Markets Act (DMA) which requires major messaging apps to be interoperable.

However, the company has kept some encryption promises, adding encryption to WhatsApp chat backups in 2021 and now, finally, rolling out end-to-end encryption in the messenger.

The company says that WhatsApp’s new View Once feature for voice messages feature is becoming available globally in the next several days. This means you may not see the option in your app immediately, but it will appear soon.



Source link

About Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *